Sometimes it just happens

23 08 2007

2 years ago today, I met the love of my life. I remember he had both ears pierced, a shaved head, and he told me he worked at Del Taco. I asked if he could hook me up with a discount. Turns out, he didn’t really work for Del Taco and in a few weeks, he would take both his earrings out and the holes would close up. Turns out, in a few months, he would kiss me for the first time and completely turn my world upside down.

I remember talking to him and getting to know him. I remember how easily he made me laugh. I remember telling him that the girl he was interested in was an idiot because she couldnt see how lucky she was to have him want to be with her. Turns out, I would be the lucky one in the long run.

2 years ago today, I met the one who makes my heart smile. For the first time in a long time, I was able to be myself. I didn’t have to hide who I was. I was free to be fun, to laugh, to feel confident, and to love and be loved in return. He gave me something that I thought was gone forever. He gave me my life back.

Yesterday, the guy who means the world to me reminded me that today was the day that we met, two years ago. The simple fact alone that he remembered something that I didn’t, rocked my world. I never even knew that the day we met meant enough for him to even remember. I think I’ll keep this one. He has a pretty good memory.

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 08 2007
rimarama

That was gorgeous. You have a keeper. I’m guessing he’s the kind who sends flowers to your workplace, too!

P.S. Thank you for your comment. I’m glad I didn’t delete that post as soon as I hit “send.” But I probably will soon.

28 08 2007
Amy

Awwwwwww! How sweet!
My husband remembers my birthday and our anniversary. Anything else was cleared out of the Short Term Memory closet a long time ago.

Leave a Reply

