I remember

11 09 2007

I have 168 blogs in my Google Reader. I think out of 168, maybe 10-15 people blogged about what happened to our country 6 years ago today. Maybe some people have not gotten the chance. Maybe they will post about it tomorrow. *shrug* I am not coming down on anyone who chooses not to post something about 9/11. Not at all. I just really thought more people would have written something.

For me, 9/11 impacted my life. I sat there with the rest of America in shock, watching those planes smash into those buildings, over and over, all through the night. I watched them fall. I watched my 6 month old son sleeping in his crib and I cried for him. I cried for the world that he would be raised in. On this day, 6 years ago, our world changed.

Growing up, I didn’t worry about anything. There was not a threat hanging over my head. For my son, he will watch us struggle to clean up Iraq. He will live through us failing to do so.* He will live with the possibility of more attacks on our country. Up until September 11, 2001 never in my 19 years had I imagined that we were in any danger. It was completely out of my head. I will never, ever forget what I did that day or who I was with.

My son is 6 now. Every year he gets older, 09/11/01 gets further away. But thats the thing, it will never go away. There will always be consequence to that day. Babies who never got to meet their fathers, grandparents, uncles, aunts. Wives who will never kiss their husbands, who after 6 years, still grieve for the men they lost. This goes for every person lost in this tragedy. Someone, somewhere, was affected by their death. The people that were lost, they deserve a voice. My voice, your voice. Just to say, on this day, that they exsisted, that they lived, they loved, they were here with us.

We said as a country that we would never forget. We can’t forget. We owe every person who was affected by this, that honor of being remembered. Do it however you please. Hang a flag, wear red, white, and blue, burn a candle, say a prayer, have a moment of silence, write a blog. JUST DO IT. It’s the least that every one of us can do on this day, 6 years, 7 years, 10 years, 15 years, and 50 years from now. It should be done. There is no excuse.

*I’m not getting into politics, Bush, the war, none of it. It makes me sick. That’s all I have to say about that.

If you didn’t blog, please share with me what you did to remember and honor this day in our history. If you did blog, please share the link with me.

Actions

Information

5 responses

11 09 2007
davidsdoll101

I know youre new to my blog, but for the last two years Ive said “There are two things that I wont touch with a 10 foot pole. One is 9/11 and the other I wont mention. Not because it hasnt impacted me in anyway, because it has, but I lost NOBODY in that disaster. I am not the person who needs to be saying how sad it was, because it was much sadder for so many others. 9/11 is what it is but I am not the one who deserves the attention today, go visit some virtual memorials or do some charity work.” In other words, Im not worthy, so Im posting about sock yarn.

11 09 2007
zdoodlebub

I didn’t post about it, I did consider it but decided against it. I did pray and give thanks for the lessons from that day. I remember driving to work that morning (we were living in Phoenix at the time) and first heard it on the radio. I also vividly remember lying in bed that night with my then 2-year-old, crying for his future. I can see the exact lighting and shadows in the room as I cuddled my boy, wondering what type of apocalypse we were in for. It was so scary and unknown, those first days.

Rescue Me on FX is a great show that, among many other inappropriate and hilarious things, focuses on how deeply damaged many of the survivors from 9/11 are.

12 09 2007
Amy

I didn’t blog about it. Because I just didn’t know what to say. I have a hard time blogging about certain things (September 11 being one) because I just don’t feel my words can do justice to them. I do remember, but I leave the writing up to those who are far more capable of capturing the drama and emotion than I.

12 09 2007
Skiplovey

Well I didn’t blog about it but I’ll share my memories about it. I was living in NYC when it happened. I was working up on 57th and 5th. Complete horror and pandemonium. I walked home that day over the Brooklyn bridge, watching the fire and smoke. My life changed forever that day. Sept 11th is always in my mind.

12 09 2007
rimarama

If I could have said it as well as you just did, I would have blogged about it! Seriously, that was so well put.

I wanted to write something yesterday, but I was coming up bone dry. It’s such a huge, huge thing, I didn’t have the words to fit around it. But you have a good point. Next year, I maybe I’ll post a “We Remember” button or something in that vein.

Leave a Reply

