Squeee!

10 10 2007

I usually don’t get all “fan girl” about stuff, but I am a music geek. My daddy is proud. He raised me to appreciate all kinds of music.

 I am one of those people who says “I like pretty much any kind of music” and actually mean it. I don’t say that, and then go “except [insert music of choice here]”. Coming from a music background, I appreciate all parts of music from lyrics to melody to rhythms, counts, and harmonies. I mean, my grandfather used to travel in the band that performed for Pancho Villa! Music and performance runs in my blood. I use music and intertwine it in my memories. Listening to my playlist isn’t just casual to me, its an experience. Yup, I’m a totally geek.

Well I got a little off track with that didn’t I? I was actually blogging about the release of the third album from one of my most favoritist artists, Vanessa Carlton.

vc

I have been waiting 3 years for this third album!! Her last release was in 2004 and it came out right before we took my last trip to San Francisco. The memories I have of her last album, Harmonium, are that of cold days, rain, wearing scarves and sweaters, and feeling at home. That album even has a song titled “San Francisco” and the song itself brings me back there every single time I hear it. It was during that time that I decided that I was going to try and be happy, with or without the help of my ex. That even if he didn’t love me, I didn’t need him too. Of course, that really didn’t work out because once he saw me making myself happy, he doubled his efforts to make me miserable. And he took me back to the place I tried to stay away from. But whenever I would listen to this album, I would feel good again.

Do you know how hard it is to wait for another album like that? Its painful! But I went out and bought it last night and now I’m at work, listening to it. Every album she makes, she reinvents herself. This one is no different and I love it so far. If you happen to be at Target this week, pick it up because its only 10 bucks right now. Or just nicely ask me to make you a copy and I’ll send it to you. If you are REALLY nice, I’ll just make you a Vanessa Carlton CD with all my favorites on it from her last two albums along with all of this new one. Wow, I’m nice.

Oh and if you still cant place who this chick is, think “A Thousand Miles” because everyone knows that song. And if thats the only one you know, then A) you suck and B) please let me educate you. Seriously, if you want a copy, just leave me a comment and I’ll get back to you by email.

Actions

Information

5 responses

10 10 2007
papa_rod

I guess I’m a nessaholic! LOL! You seem like a nice person so I would not want the RIAA to come visit you with one of their music copyright lawsuits. DON’T make copies of Vanessa’s music for anyone!

10 10 2007
Amy

You’re some kind of a neurotic maniac. But that’s cool. I like most kinds of music, too. Except rock, rap, country, oldies, pop, alternative…
No, I really do like most kinds of music. Depends on my mood.
I want to see the Trans-Siberian Orchestra in concert. That would mothereffing rock.

10 10 2007
Jennifer

Well crap. I think that’s the only song I know, I suck. Your enthusiasm makes me want to know more, though. Am I less sucky now?

10 10 2007
heather

Thanks for the tip! I’m always looking for new music, and I really do like everything too!

15 10 2007
Joy

I love all kinds of music too! I know what you mean about strong memory associations with music- I have songs/ albums that can take me back!

Leave a Reply

