Random Acts of Kindness

29 10 2007

When I was a senior in high school, I had to take psychology to finish up some “credit requirements”. It’s the easiest class to take and I really didn’t expect to learn anything more than I already knew. But I did.

Every Friday we had to perform Random Acts of Kindness over the weekend. We had to do at least 3 and write about it to be turned in Monday. At first, I would totally forget about it and just put something down in the class before my psych class. I would make something up and scribble it down and turn it in and always get full points. Then one weekend I just decided to think about something I could do for someone else that would be considered a Random Act of Kindness. And you know what? It felt good.

I started out doing little things, like opening doors for people, or letting other cars get the “good spot” I was waiting for at the mall. These little things that were so simple made me feel pretty darn good about myself.

I was reminded of this exercise when Rura and I rented Evan Almighty last week. If you haven’t seen this, go rent it. It got really awful reviews but it was actually really good. At the end of the story, God basically teaches Evan about Acts of Random Kindness, or ARK. Get it? He has to build the Ark and in the process learns about treating people right and committing Acts of Random Kindness. Ooooh. Its a feel good story, perfect for the whole family.

Moving on… that got me thinking. There is so much ugliness and negativity in the world, why cant we just get back to basics? So I thought I would bring it to the blogosphere. Its amazing how much positive energy comes from bloggers. Imagine if we were all commiting Random Acts of Kindness? And then writing about it?

I figure with NaBloPoMo coming up, we could all use at least ONE day a week where our post practically writes itself. So I call Sundays for this little project.

I need your help though.

Should we go with ARK Sundays or RAOK Sundays?

Anyone want to volunteer to make a button and banner for this?

Does anyone think they would actually participate? Please let me know if I am wasting my time here. All I ask is that you write about your Random Acts of Kindness every Sunday. Link back to the page I’ll make so that your readers will maybe want to do it too. Commit one, three, ten, a hundred for all I care. Then write about it on Sunday. All I am trying to do is spread a little love around here. And isnt that what the world needs now?

So who’s with me?

Actions

Information

14 responses

29 10 2007
zdoodlebub

OK. So first I must say – love the new look! Now I shall get to the reading of the blog!

29 10 2007
zdoodlebub

I’m with you, I’m with you! (I’m not a graphics expert, though, so we’ll have to wait for someone else to volunteer to make the button.)

The energy from the blogosphere? There are no words.

Since I’ve been writing, commenting, reading? Really, nothing has changed in my life.

But the way I feel?

Everything has changed in my life.

I vote for ARK Sundays (just cuz I like the Biblical tie-in)! I’m in!

29 10 2007
Melissa

I think it’s funny that you “made up” your random acts of kindness for class. “So let’s see… yesterday I saved a whale…” But I’m happy to hear you’re enjoying your genuine acts of kindness! I’ll try to do the same!

29 10 2007
squishycutegirl

I’m in. I think it’s a great idea. I’ve been feeling the need to improve myself for the sake of my daughter. I want to lead by example and there’s not time like the present to start. I like ARK Sundays.

I’m not sure why people didn’t like the movie. I loved it! I thought it flowed so much better than the first one. And it left me with a squishy happy feeling. Always a sign of greatness.

I made up my weekend work-outs for a Health and Wellness class my freshman year of college and still got full credit. I don’t really feel bad about it though. My hips and butt feel bad about it though.

29 10 2007
rimarama

Awesome idea! I would totally do it. Um, I’m no good at making buttons and stuff, though. And I like “ARK” for the title.

29 10 2007
Monique

I think it’s a great idea, however, I probably wouldn’t participate. For one, I don’t think “Cleaning the toilet” classifies as a random act of kindness for anyone but myself, and I am really bad… at being nice. 😦 I mean, I hold doors open and apologize when I bump into people… but I don’t have enough random acts to go around, and I’m sure you don’t want to read about my adventures in door holding every Sunday. :/
I’m down with making buttons though!! It’s been a while since I opened up PSP and I would relish the opportunity! Let me know! 🙂

30 10 2007
Amy

Ok, I’m having some conflict. See… ARK looks much better than RAOK. But… Random Acts of Kindness sounds a lot better than Acts of Random Kindness. I can’t decide. I wish my brain wasn’t wired so weird.

30 10 2007
skyzi

I like Ark!

30 10 2007
heather

Great idea!! I’ll totally do it! How about just RAK Sunday – in the military we drop words all the time to make our acronyms spell what we want them to!

30 10 2007
Tere

Crap, did it again! That was me in the last comment…

30 10 2007
davidsdoll101

I think its great.

31 10 2007
skiplovey

Sweet new look! I’ll try it. Sounds good, especially with NaBloPoMo coming up. btw, I like ARK.

31 10 2007
Jennifer

I think this is a great idea! I need something to write about with NaBloPoMo coming up…you are definitely going to have to remind me, my plate is so full right now.

Love the new look!

31 10 2007
Gentlemen- Start Your Engines! « Rain Babies

[…] will be devoted to ARK Sundays, a really great idea from the big brain of Miss, where we perform Acts of Random Kindness and write […]

Leave a Reply

