Christmas is not a date, its a state of mind

13 12 2007

I am so not feeling the Christmas spirit. I don’t know whats wrong with me.

Usually around this time, I am totally feeling the holiday vibe, the rush of getting ready for Christmas, the joy that’s supposed to come round this time of year. But I’m not.

I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that I don’t have my own place to decorate. When I did, even in the worst circumstances, I still got out all my decorations and put up a tree, wrapped presents, the works. I loved stringing lights and turning them on for the first time. This year? Not so much. I’m so un-motivated to do anything! I really hate it. I salvaged some of my favorite Christmas decorations when I moved out of the ex’s place but the reality is, I don’t have anywhere to display them. This is one of the major downsides to staying with my parents.

Don’t even get me started on presents. First of all, I’m broke. I hate not having money but there are bills to be paid and food to be bought. Those things come first. As does Starbucks. And really, why should I be expected to buy gifts for some people? I am trying to get around some of it by making gifts for the majority of my family but it just doesn’t feel the same. I’m just not into the whole idea of braving the crowds and spending money that I know can be spent elsewhere.

Seeing the blogosphere alive with the holiday spirit just gets me down even more. Yea, a lot of people are complaining about already spending too much on gifts, but that is brought upon yourself. I have seen more and more posts with pictures of people’s decorated homes and trees and they are SO beautiful and me? Well I’m just jealous of that. I dont gots it.

I guess I’m just in a funk. Tonight we have plans with a friend from my old job to go and see the Christmas lights. There is one neighborhood out by where my friend lives that everyone decorates their yards with lights. Its like a 4 block radius and we drive around and ooh and ahh then go to Denny’s. We did it last year and had a lot of fun.

Maybe this is what I need to get my Christmas feelings flowin’. I just hope its enough.

Actions

Information

6 responses

13 12 2007
rimarama

Driving around looking at the lights, followed by Denny’s sounds awesome. I think it should do the trick. Honestly, most years I don’t feel the Christmas spirit until pretty much Christmas Eve. It’ll hit ya, though.

13 12 2007
skiplovey

You know what you need, hot chocolate with marshmellows. And maybe a string of christmas lights in your room. A nighttime drive sounds great though, especially if there’s french fries afterward. Yum. And don’t laugh but I’ve had Perry Como on heavy rotation and freakin’ nothing gets you in the mood like “Santa Claus is coming to town” in the smooth style of ole Perry, dig?

13 12 2007
Mariposa

Sending you happy thoughts…may the spirit of Christmas visit you today! 😉

14 12 2007
Monique

I lost my spirit, and I’m slowly getting it back. I think it was more not having Samara with me, than anything else really. Not that it helped, Christian deciding not to take the day off, lol. I found myself making snarky comments at the TV {I know what that sounds like} as Christmas commercials came on and I decided that I needed to get out of the funk. :/

I plug in the tree {which is the only decor we have, since my funk hit and I stopped caring about the rest of the apartment.} I listen to some horrible Christmas music… it helps a little. 🙂

I definitely agree with doing a little something with whatever space you have. And I hope you start feeling better about the holiday any way you can. 🙂 ((Mega Hugs))

14 12 2007
heather

I’m not feeling it this year much either. It’s been too warm, and too busy. So many obligations. How about cookie baking? That always helps me.

14 12 2007
davidsdoll101

Tis the season to be jorry, fa ra ra ra raaa ra ra ra rah.

No, you idiots! It’s not fa ra ra ra ra, it’s FA LA LA LA LA. Try it again.

Deeeck the halls with bors of horry fa ra ra ra…

NO! Ah…whatever.

Leave a Reply

