So sorry

26 02 2008

I haven’t been able to post in the last week because I have been enjoying a fabulous vacation in Paris.

No, I haven’t. I’m a big fat bitchy liar.

I hate blog entries like this. I hate to read them because really, who the fuck cares where I have been. I don’t have any tragedies to tell. I don’t have any good news either. I’ve just been busy.

Busy reading. Busy reading this, this, this, and I am totally wrapped up in THIS right now. SOO good. If you can, pick it up.

Why am I so obsessed with Jodi Picoult right now? The question should be, why are you NOT? She is a fantastic writer. My personal favorite. How in the hell am I reading so many books in less than a month? Don’t ask. Much neglect to my child and blog happens during this process.

The book I am reading now, Nineteen Minutes, is just compelling. It’s about a school shooting. Picoult writes from the perspectives of ALL involved from the shooter, to the students, their parents, law enforcement, and the judicial system. She never takes a side but gives the raw, honest feelings in every way that she can. Her books are just books that you cannot put down.

That said, I am wasting time writing this when I could be reading. Not that I don’t love you all, I just have this addiction that I have to go tend to.

Be lucky its not booze or sex.

Actions

Information

11 responses

26 02 2008
rimarama

I’ve only ever read one book by her (My Sister’s Keeper.) It was good, but it made me wig out a little about childhood illness, so I think I subconsciously stayed away from her books because I associate them with bad things happening to children.

26 02 2008
Amy

I have never read any of her books. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to, now that I know you’re cheating on me with her.

26 02 2008
Swistle

I love every Jodi Picoult book except the one about the pregnant Amish girl, and I loved that one until the very end when the ending made no sense. I hate endings that make no sense.

26 02 2008
LunaNik

You do know that now I must buy a Jodi Picoult book the next time I order from amazon. Which do you recommend I start with?

26 02 2008
BusyDad

Well, if it was booze, I could say I’ll meet you at 100 to 1 for a couple of beers! But I guess reading with you at Borders would be fun too. Well… not as. Either way, one of these days I WILL run into you!

26 02 2008
Sonia

Our book club read one of her books then we all went crazy reading a bunch of Jodi stuff and passing it around to each other. A couple of us actually went to hear her speak at a women’s center event (they have authors come periodically) and she was a fantastic speaker, very down to earth and approachable.

26 02 2008
davidsdoll101

Buying this book now.

And come get your sexbox 360.

27 02 2008
OHmommy

I need to pick up a book…. I so miss reading and flipping REAL pages. I think you might have inspired me.

27 02 2008
skiplovey

Yeah I was wondering where you’d been. Well at least that rules out fleeing to Vegas. Look at you with your reading, you go smarty girl.

27 02 2008
huckdoll

Don’t worry girl….read. I’m going to go to the library and pick up a book by Picoult tomorrow.

I know how you feel about just checking in though, sometimes you just want ppl to know you’re alive and didn’t get hit by a car or something. I hate it when blog friends just disappear off the face of the Earth.

28 02 2008
The Kept Woman

There’s nothing like getting lost in a great book!

Leave a Reply

