Is this the 1950’s? Heh, I wish.

3 04 2008

I have to brag here for a minute. I am so proud of Rura. Not only for being dead sexy, but for figuring out his dream, and actually doing something about it. Not many people can honestly say that they have done that. I know that I can’t. Shit, I don’t even know what I want to be when I grow up. I don’t even know if I want to be anything.

Ugh, that is depressing.

Anyways, as much shit as I give him for missing Dodger games and other half important things, I do admire his dedication to the police force he is involved in. He is active and on ride along’s at least once a week and he dedicates a lot of time to it. Without pay. He can do that NOW, but it wont last for long. He does work a regular job too and he has to deal with my crazy on a daily basis. Once he completes his training and gets hired to a force, I know he is going to make an excellent cop. And he is going to love what he is doing with his life.

Now me? I dont mind my job. It pays my bills and doesn’t get under my skin on a daily basis. (There is always an exceptionand you will not BELIEVE what that crazy bitch is up to now.) But…. but…. I just don’t think that this is what I am supposed to do with my life.

Truth be told, I hate working. I am the most awesome housewife and SAHM mom ever. Even better than you. I’m sorry but it has to be said. Someone should pay me just to stay home and have babies and take care of them. Which is what I want to do once Rura is making enough money.

Hahahaha Wait. I live in California. Economy? Crap. Housing Market? Crap. All of it is crap. Which just kills my lifelong dream of not working. Which makes me sad.

Is it so horrible that I don’t want to be a bread winner? That I would prefer being a housewife? Barefoot and pregnant? I just don’t know.

But I do know that I rock at getting uniforms to the dry-cleaners and getting them picked up on time. I can cook when given a kitchen and I do laundry like its nobodies business. Hell, I’ll even scrub a toilet or two. Overall, this just determines that the above is true, I should SO not be in the workforce. All my talents are going to waste.

I really don’t care if this post sets the women’s movement back 50 years. Seriously. Don’t. Give. A. Fuck.

Actions

Information

12 responses

3 04 2008
Amy

You need to be a housewife so we can chat all day.

I know a great little place in the midwest that isn’t nearly as expensive as California…. and it even has cops.

Never mind that you’d be 3000 miles from your friends and family and all things Dodger. And ignore the 872 feet of snow, too. Thinking about those things instead of being closer to me would just be selfish.

3 04 2008
honeybell

Will you come be MY housewife? Please?

3 04 2008
skiplovey

Seriously why don’t you come over to do my laundry and hell while you’re at it maybe make a nice dinner too.
Nothing wrong with knowing what you like to do and what you don’t like to do. Somebody’s got to raise the kids, might as well be someone who likes doing it. (Hee, I saId “doing it”. Hee hee.)

3 04 2008
Monique

My mother {who has technically been a stay at home mom her entire life, and has hated damn near every moment of it} is always telling me that I need to intensely pursue photography because she truly thinks that being a mom is as unrewarding to everyone as it was for her.

She doesn’t understand that while I love photography, I wouldn’t mind NOT doing it and even if I did, I’d still always be a MOM first. I am SO blissfully happy being a SAHM, I really don’t want to do much more unless a WAH opportunity that doesn’t involve tupperware or sex toys comes along. Granted, I’m definitely not the best housewife, I can’t cook, I hate cleaning- but I am a kick ass mom!

I don’t see anything wrong with not wanting to be the breadwinner, but then again that’s coming from a biased standpoint. I also don’t care about my contribution to the setbacks of the women’s movement, shit, I’m sure someone is striving extra hard to make up for my lack of enthusiasm. And, I’m okay with that.

4 04 2008
heather

I don’t think your post sets the movement back…it’s totally screwed up as it is. And at least you’re honest. If more Moms could be honest about what they really want then there wouldn’t be so much guilt and dissatisfaction because we’d all be fine with our choices. And we’d be able to plan for circumstances so they really would be CHOICES instead of have to’s.

4 04 2008
rimarama

I wrote a post about a month ago about mixed feelings toward being a SAHM and one commenter pointed out that when I’m all apologetic about it (i.e., “setting the woman’s movement back” or whatever you want to call it), it sends a message to my daughter that being a “housewife” is a weak option for a strong woman. The only way that stereotype is ever going to change is if us “housewives” stop cowering in the corner about the work that we do.

Anyway, I hope you get to scrub toilets with the best of ’em someday!

6 04 2008
Jessie

Do it. Seriously. I took two years off before I realized that I wanted to be a writer and now I do that while picking up the suits from the dry cleaner. Actually we have never been to the dry cleaner because he doesnt really wear suits but you know. Being a “house wife” has perks, like being able to get creative. I mean, Ive taken two weeks off of writing now to knit. TO KNIT. Can you do that? Can you just randomly decide to do that? Probably not. And then I pick up extra money by doing photography. It’s really freeing. Do it. Do it.

8 04 2008
BusyDad

It’s only 1950’s if you are doing it because you’re “supposed” to do it. If that’s what makes you happy and you want to do it — well that’s what progressive society is all about! Scrub and launder like the wind, Miss! Luckily, Rura will always have a job. Bad guys will always need an ass kickin no matter what the economy is doing.

11 04 2008
Bridgett

I’m totally with you. Totally. And the chicas on my block are too–8 of us gals with young kids and only one of us works outside the house full time. Three of us work at our kids’ schools part time. And the rest are happily work-from or stay-at home. I can’t wait till I’m back to full time SAHM status. And I don’t apologize. I use the old La Leche League cop out: “This is what works for our family.” Add a smug smile and people get quiet.

12 04 2008
OHmommy

I love you.

17 04 2008
LunaNik

Oh I feel ya sweetheart. The situation in Jersey is similar to CA. High cost of living and stuff.

Here’s my plan:

Get certified as a CNA (Certified Nurse’s Assistant) and eventually as an LPN (Licensed Nurse Practitioner)

You ALWAYS have work once you get these because nursing is one of the most understaffed jobs in the WORLD. Plus, the money is decent AND the shifts are flexible enough that you could possibly maneuver staying home with the kiddos most of the time. Look into it girl.

23 06 2008
Jamie

You have just described my dream. I knew it would never work out with my last boyfriend when he expressed disgust in my ambition to do that. He just thought I was lazy, even though right now I already have a B.S. of Psychology and am now pursuing a degree to be an RN. Oh, he was also a dick.

I say you should try to find some way to do it.

Leave a Reply

