Another “first” gone

10 08 2008

So just the other day, I gave birth to a beautiful baby boy.

Wait… that was 7 years ago.

Let me start over.

So just the other day, I took my son to his first day of second grade.

*Ahem* That’s better.

He was very much not looking forward to second grade. His whole first grade experience left a lot to be desired. His teacher was much too old* to be teaching first graders. She just could not keep up and she had a short temper with all the kids, not just mine. Basically, it was one of those situations where every parent thought it was their kid that was acting out, when, to his teacher, it was all the kids.

Needless to say, he was not looking forward to his first day.

I kept telling him it should be ok, and to give his new teacher a chance. He can be stubborn as hell so he wasn’t buying into my attempts to be a soothing mother type figure. Kid’s got me figured out yo.

We did the school clothes shopping, and the supply shopping and his dad took care of the shoes. He wasn’t quite ready to end his vacation. He had just stayed at the beach with the ex’s family for a long weekend, plus a lot of swimming, games, and just normal little boy stuff.

I keep forgetting he’s 7. I know that 7 doesn’t mean grown. But 2nd grade? Already? I mean, really. It’s going by far too fast for me. It’s hard to remember a time before now. I mean, yea I have pictures and video but it’s just not the same.

This does not equal out to baby fever by the way. So stop thinking that right now. You know who you are.

Any-ways, before I was rudely interrupted by those that want to see me knocked up, I just want a few minutes with my squishy little boy. Can you believe that skinny kid right there used to be a bunch of rolls? Rolls for days. He loved the boob, this kid did.

So my baby is grown. Wearing a size 3 and a half shoe now. Starts his 4th year of soccer tomorrow. Listening to this song, over and over on his first day of school.


Yea, I know all the words. What of it?

If there is yet another thing that makes me proud, is that he has inherited my love of music. Even if it’s The Naked Brothers Band, or iCarly. He will always make me smile when I hear him singing along.

Yup. My kid is so much cooler than me.

*I got mad love for the teachers. Some of the coolest people I know have teachers for their mommies. Me included.


Actions

Information

18 responses

10 08 2008
Zoeyjane

OOOOH. Mommy blogger! I’m totally pointing a finger at you. But seriously? Kid wqears Volcom. Of course, he’s cool.

10 08 2008
Red Lotus Mama

What a cute kid! I swear every year goes by faster and faster. I know if I blink too much Little ‘Ny will be heading off to 2nd grade tomorrow. I hope he loves 2nd grade … and tell him to stop growing up so fast!

10 08 2008
aftertheidos

He is so cute. Music is fabulous.
Mommy Blogger 🙂 You are too funny.

10 08 2008
Huckdoll

Haha, that last pic is a framer for sure. He IS too cool for school. Love that song, too. I can’t believe you’re a mom to a seven year old…I doubt I will have a fraction of your awesomeness when my kids are that age 🙂

11 08 2008
ali

i. love. him.

emily starts 2nd grade right after labor day. she’s also way too cool for school. heh.

11 08 2008
Honeybell

My God he’s adorable! We have to do this in a few days, ugh.

11 08 2008
Karen MEG (Pomtini)

Oh your boy is so,so, so cute!

2nd grade, yeah, that really hits, they seem so grown up (speaking from a veteran whose boy starts 3rd grade in 3 weeks). Your boy must be tall – L was wearing size 4 this time last year… now he’s a size 5, yes a small MEN’s foot. Yikes… they grow fast! But I’m checkin’ out the size of the backpack…he still looks so little with that huge bag. They need to carry so much these days, don’t they?

I hope 2nd great is better for him; L’s 2nd grade teacher sounds similar to your boy’s grade 1 teacher… she was manic, would fly off the handle but then be so sweet the next moment. I’m thinking she should retire.

And of course he’s cooler than you; us geeks growing up must NOT have geeky children. It’s a golden rule.

It’s all relative of course; I am NOWHERE near as cool as your boy’s momma is, not by a long shot 😉

Sorry for the novel.. it’s the coffee talking ….

11 08 2008
BusyDad

!! A mom blog entry !! But come on SBJ is like the coolest kid. He totally deserves a post like this. See? It’s not so bad. And I know what you mean – my kid is already cooler than I will ever be. Which only means I did good, right? And yes, teacher moms rule and if you think I’m cool even after seeing me and Fury side by side, well then you are pretty darn awesome.

11 08 2008
jessie

Oh he’ll do just fine, you know it and I know it. Hey if you lived in San Bernardino I could guarantee him the finest second grade teacher in all the world. But whoever he got will probably be just fine.

11 08 2008
ohmommy

Awwww…. how sweet is he? LOVED this post. I can’t imagine having a 2nd grader. 😉

11 08 2008
Maria

He is too cute. Look it you all mushy and sweet!

11 08 2008
maggies mind

Aw, he really is such a good looking little dude. Super sweet.

11 08 2008
zdoodlebub

You’re a good mamma. It does ache, doesn’t it? The days are long but the years are fast.

12 08 2008
Jamie

I can’t imagine the day when I am going through that. I don’t know how I’ll handle it, but I think you’re doing well 🙂

12 08 2008
Sully Sullivan

Wow school starts already? It’s only the middle of August. Here, school starts on the first Monday of September.

Anyhow he looks like he’ll have no trouble making a ton of friends, because he’s pretty damn cool.

12 08 2008
skiplovey

Dude is adorable. and a second grader? Oh geez, game over now.

13 08 2008
Mr Lady

You had me at Volcom. Our kids would totally be best friends.

13 08 2008
A Whole Lot of Hooch

That’s one cute-ass little kid you got. Beware.

Leave a comment