7 Years Ago

7 03 2008

It was a pretty nice day, for March. It was overcast and I ran over to the video store to pick up some movies. I grabbed JFK because I was hard up for a good conspiracy movie and hadn’t seen JFK in a while. I was pretty excited because it was the first day of my pregnancy leave and I was SICK of Target. I had a good week ahead of me before I expected him to come so I was ready forΒ a mini vacation before EVERYTHING was going to change.

I headed over to the base to my checkup which was supposed to be pretty routine. I felt good going in and was already planning my day. Turns out, that little fetus inside me had other plans.

It has to be said. The worst thing that can happen, while the doc is all up in your biznezz, is for him to get a bewildered and confused look on his face. Not a good sign. Never a good sign. He asks if I am feeling any contractions. Nope actually, I feel great. I rented JFK. No plans for a baby tonight. It wasn’t to be. I was at 4 centimeters and that’s doc talk for admittance. But first, walk for two hours. Then come back and get felt up again.

Grab the ex from his job in the hospital and tell him that we gotta go NOW and get my bag. And of course stop at Target for PJ’s. Go home, grab my bag and pillow and walk around the mall for an hour. Drive the 30 minutes back to the base and get checked, only to be told to go walk some more.

We end up at the apartment of one of the ex’s friends. They play cards while I watch HBO and attempt to time my contractions. Which I couldn’t really feel. End up back at the hospital around 11:00 that night.

The next day rolls around. I have a room with a view of the roof of the hospital and the parking lot. It’s raining. I’m on pitocin. The ex insisted on making all my IV’s. I had to put my foot down when he suggested that he put the IV in me. Uh, no.

SEVERAL hours later and a good half hour of PAIN and I’ve got an epidural injection that will last 45 minutes instead of the normal IV. I’m dilated to 10 and its time to push.

30 minutes later and there he is, all up in my world.

At 1:19 pm, my life changed forever.

This kid makes me smile every day. He makes me want to pull my hair out just as much. He has a crazy sense of humor and it so smart, I don’t know how he came from me.

7 years and he still sleeps with his arms flung over his head, just like he did when he was a tiny little baby.
arms

As crazy as he is, I wouldn’t trade him for anything.

nuts

Happy Birthday my sunshine. You make me happy, when skies are grey.

BTW, I never did get to watch JFK. But the video store decided not to charge me a late fee when I returned the movies 2 months later.


Actions

Information

18 responses

7 03 2008
davidsdoll101

Aaaaw. He’s the most animated little kid I know. I love that one picture of him jumping into the pool and he’s all sprawled out in mid air. Good times.

7 03 2008
zdoodlebub

ditto the awwww! Great story.

7 03 2008
honeybell

Fantastic, he is a doll, and the bottom pic reminds me of my own little baby (who will turn 7 in Sept.)

7 03 2008
liv

oof! he’s precious! love it!

8 03 2008
Monique

Aww!! My mom always tells me that I should be calling her on my birthday, since she was born as a mom that day- so Happy Birthday to both of you! πŸ˜€

8 03 2008
rimarama

Happy Birthday, SBJ!

I love the fact that he still sleeps like that. He’s is too cute.

9 03 2008
BusyDad

Happy Birthday Kid!! So funny – mine still sleeps like that at age 5. And his legs are always splayed out in some kind of running position too. Hey, it’s the ones that drive you crazy who have the spirit to do the most amazing things.

9 03 2008
Jennifer

What a great birth story! Happy birthday to your boy and to you.

9 03 2008
Huckdoll

Aw. One of my girls has slept that same way since the say she was born, too. He’s a cutie

9 03 2008
heather

How sweet! Happy b-day SBJ! I never really felt any contractions either, that is until I REALLY felt them.

11 03 2008
LunaNik

Happy Birthday Handsome!!!

11 03 2008
Dixiechick

Delurking…happy birthday to your little one. They do grow up fast. I linked you, hope that’s ok.

11 03 2008
skiplovey

What a cutie! Hope he had a happy birthday.

11 03 2008
Huckdoll

PS. I gave you an award today πŸ™‚ Check it!

11 03 2008
OHmommy

Handsome little guy…. happy birthday!!! Love that you took a sleeping picture of him. Nice!

12 03 2008
ecky

Handsome big guy… happy birthday.. and it’s a lovely story indeed πŸ™‚

12 03 2008
melissa

i’m here from huckdoll’s blog.
you’re son…precious!!
it’s amazing how you NEVER forget the going-ons of the day you gave birth…no matter how old you get or your child gets. you can recall it like it just happened!!
wonderful story!

14 03 2008
Tara R.

Happy B-Day! You got yourself a little heartbreaker… look out girls!

blog hoppin’ – etcetera

Leave a comment